People in Missouri get their car windows tinted for various reasons. Mainly because it’s a great addition during the long hot summers and also because it adds to the overall the look of their cars.
However, because of the amount of privacy offered by window tints, their use is regulated by law. There’s a limit to how dark your windows can be.
Vehicle window tinting is governed by the rules and regulations stipulated by the state and the laws vary from one state to another.
If you live in Missouri and are planning to get your car windows tinted, then it is important to know the state’s tint laws. That’s what we’ll discuss in this post.
Window tinting is permitted in Missouri, but there are certain rules and regulations that you must comply with. Car window tint laws were implemented in 2002 in this state.
Below we give you a complete rundown of these rules and how to follow them.
Permitted Window Tint Darkness
Every state in the U.S. has certain limits on how dark your windows can be. The transparency of your windows is typically measured with the help of a unit called visible light transmission or VLT.
If your tint film is rated at a higher VLT%, then it means that it allows more light to pass through.
For instance, a tint film with 60% VLT will let 60% of light pass through it, whereas a film with a VLT of 5% will only allow 5% light to pass through, which means that the 5% tint is a lot darker than a 60% tint film.
In Missouri, there are different permissible limits for different cars, such as:
Windshield: You can have a non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line.
Driver-side windows: Should let in more than 35% of light.
Passenger-side windows: Should let in more than 35% of light.
Rear window: Tint of any darkness is allowed.
SUVs and Vans
Windshield: A non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line is permitted.
Driver-side windows: Must allow over 35% of light.
Passenger-side windows: Must allow over 35% of light.
Rear window: Tint of any darkness is permissible.
Some window tints also have reflective properties. The key reason behind using reflective tint is that it lowers the glare and the heat coming into your cabin.
Tint reflection differs from tint darkness. Tint darkness refers to the amount of light let in by the tint film, whereas tint reflection is the amount of light reflected by the film.
The Missouri tint law permits only a certain amount of reflection, depending on the type of vehicle.
Windshield: Should not be reflective.
Driver-side windows: Should not be reflective more than 35%.
Passenger-side windows: Should not be reflective more than 35%.
Rear window: Should not be reflective more than 35%.
Windshield: Shouldn’t have any reflective tint.
Driver-side windows: Should be up to 35% reflective.
Passenger-side windows: Should be up to 35% reflective.
Rear window: Should be up to 35% reflective.
Other Missouri Tint Rules You Need to Know
Some of the other tint rules of the Missouri state include:
- If the back window is tinted, then your vehicle must have dual side mirrors.
- All tint colors are permitted.
- There can be a tint variance of 3% from the permitted levels.
- Tint film manufacturers are not required to certify the film sold in the state.
- There is no need for the vehicle to display a sticker to show legal tinting.
- The state allows special tints due to medical reasons.
- You can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor for violating the Missouri tint law and you may be fined up to $750 or receive 15 days of jail time.
State of Missouri Info
Named after the Missouri River that flows through it, the “Show-Me State” or Missouri is a Midwestern state that lies between Kentucky and Kansas.
Missouri has 114 counties and the largest cities in the state are Kansas, St. Louis, Columbia, Springfield and Jefferson City, the capital city of Missouri.
Home to beautiful landscapes and scenery, with grassy peaks and stunning Ozark Mountain peaks, Missouri is a beautiful state.
Population: 6.18 million
Capital: Jefferson City
Registered vehicles: 5,153,425
Total lane miles: 277,504
Number of highways: 7
Tint law references: Revised Statutes Chapter 307